Modified Weddell application

Information about ongoing ROMS/TOMS applications

Moderators: arango, robertson

Arianna

Modified Weddell application

#1 Unread post by Arianna »

Hi all,
I'm Arianna and I'm a beginner with Roms. I'm trying to run the Weddell application with ROMS 2.1 version. I'm working with that version, because I would like to run again the Weddell application coupled with a ice dynamic and thermodynamic module, that works with ROMS 2.1 at the moment.
In order to simplify the application, I defined the climatology of tracers and momentum through analytical expressions instead of a climatology file. Unfortunately the run blows up at the first time step, and after many attempts to vary the initial conditions I got the same result:
blows up....exit flag:1.

The specifications of the application are:

DT == 20.0d0
NDTFAST == 4
GAMMA2=-1
Xsize=4000.0*REAL(Lm, r8 ) m
Esize=4000.0*REAL(Mm, r8 ) m
depth=4500.0 m
Lm = 300
Mm = 5
N = 30

and the cppdfs.h is:

# elif defined WEDDELL

/*
** Options Idealized Weddell Sea Application: Tides and Ice Shelf Test.
*/

#define UV_ADV
#define DJ_GRADPS
#define UV_COR
#define TS_A4HADVECTION
#define TS_A4VADVECTION
#define SOLVE3D
#define SALINITY
#define NONLIN_EOS
#define CURVGRID
#define SPLINES
#define ICESHELF
#define AVERAGES
#define NS_PERIODIC
#define EAST_VOLCONS
#define WEST_VOLCONS
#define RADIATION_2D
#define EAST_FSCHAPMAN
#define EAST_M2FLATHER
#define EAST_M3RADIATION
#define EAST_TRADIATION
#define WEST_FSCHAPMAN
#define WEST_M2FLATHER
#define WEST_M3RADIATION
#define WEST_TRADIATION
#define ANA_M2CLIMA
#define ANA_TCLIMA
#define ANA_GRID
#define ANA_INITIAL
#define ANA_FSOBC
#define ANA_M2OBC
#define ANA_SMFLUX
#define ANA_STFLUX
#define ANA_SSFLUX
#define ANA_SRFLUX
#define ANA_BSFLUX
#define ANA_BTFLUX

All the surface fluxes are zero. The free surface and 2D momentum open boundary conditions and the zeta initial conditions are set up from M2 Tide as in the distributed WEDDELL application.