ROMS for MacOS v. 10.15.2 Catalina / v. 11 Big Sur system

Discussion on computers, ROMS installation and compiling

Moderators: arango, robertson

osean

ROMS for MacOS v. 10.15.2 Catalina / v. 11 Big Sur system

#1 Unread post by osean »

Hello ROMS community

I am new to this, as a graduate student, starting on a project that involves ROMS.

I currently work on MacOS environment (MacOS v.10.15.2 Catalina), and I plan to buy a new macbook for research use. The only information available on ROMS wiki was for MacOS X 10.5.4, which was the 2007 release; too outdated for my current software.

At the moment, I wonder if anyone has experience installing ROMS on either v.10.15.2 Catalina or v.11+ Big Sur system.

If anyone has attempted installing on ROMS on the new M-1 chip Macbook (with v.11 Big Sur), it would be very helpful to know.

Much appreciated for any guidance!

Kosa

Re: ROMS for MacOS v. 10.15.2 Catalina / v. 11 Big Sur system

#2 Unread post by Kosa »

I've run on Catalina. I haven't tried on Big Sur though.

I'm very curious about ROMS performance on the new M1 chip so if you get one of those machines please keep us updated.

wilkin

#3 Unread post by wilkin »

Works fine for me on Catalina. You likely have to update macports.
John Wilkin: DMCS Rutgers University
71 Dudley Rd, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8521, USA. ph: 609-630-0559 jwilkin@rutgers.edu

osean

#4 Unread post by osean »

Kosa wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 2:31 pm I've run on Catalina. I haven't tried on Big Sur though.

I'm very curious about ROMS performance on the new M1 chip so if you get one of those machines please keep us updated.
Thanks! Interesting... I am currently on Catalina. Perhaps once I get it to work for the test cases, if I manage to set it up, I might attempt the new M1 machine one day. Will keep you posted

ggerbi

#5 Unread post by ggerbi »

You'll need to install XCode (or at least the command line tools; I haven't kept up to date with the continual XCode changes)