Normalization coefficients

Discussion about tangent linear and adjoint models, variational data assimilation, and other related issues.

Moderators: arango, robertson

isoares

Normalization coefficients

#1 Unread post by isoares »

Deal All,

I am new in the business of 4DVAR. I am trying to implement the IS4DVAR in the Northwest Pacific Ocean. My grid is 601x401x30.

I am running the experiments in a Azure Virtual Machine which has 20 cores and is configured with Ubuntu linux. The WC3 test went well in this machine, with both the exact and the random methods. The experiment in my grid went well with the random method, but the experiment with the exact method is taking forever to complete.

I wonder if something is wrong and my first guess is my eastern boundary, which it is partially open.

Is there a problem with a partially open boundary for the computation of the normalization coefficients ?

In the c4dvar.in, the Lobc flag for this boundary was set as "T" and, in the ocean.in, the LBC keywords are equal to the other open boundaries.

Thanks in advance.

Ivan
Ivan Dias Soares
Senior Research Scientist
Atlantech Environmental Sciences
ivan@atlantech.com.br
https://www.atlantech.com.br
Florianopolis, SC, BRAZIL

jivica
Location: The University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia

Re: Normalization coefficients

#2 Unread post by jivica »

Hi Ivan,

I think that nothing is wrong, it just takes time.
Your grid is not that small (and depending on your de-correlation scales) and given small number of cores it takes quite a lot.

My recipe is to make exact solution only (!) for zeta (2D so should be faster) and then compare that with randomized solution just to have idea about (miss)match and what RAND number should I use to capture features of the bathy/domain. If you want you can do that for ubar / vbar as well. This is when I used big grids, for smaller I can do full exact solutions.