About Coriolis parameter

General scientific issues regarding ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

Zhang.Shuang

About Coriolis parameter

#1 Unread post by Zhang.Shuang »

Hello,

I'm new to ROMS and just started running and adjusting the upwelling test.I got stuck in a problem and really confused. Could anyone help me? Thanks~

Since the upwelling test was set in the southern-hemisphere. I'm now trying to run it in northern hemisphere. I chose to pick up the latitude of 48N. So I redefined the Coriolis Parameter f0 in the ANA-GRID.h file to the new value. But in the ocean_his.nc, the f still shows the minus value in the original model. It didn't change at all!

So I wonder if I want to reset the test in northern hemisphere, should I adjust something else except f0 in the ANA-GRID.h file?

Thanks a lot!

Shuang

fengxingru

Re: About Coriolis parameter

#2 Unread post by fengxingru »

In realistic applications,you use the grid created by yourself, this problem does not exist.

kate

#3 Unread post by kate »

You changed f0 in the UPWELLING section of ana_grid.h? That should do the trick. You can check by looking in Build/analytical.f90 to see the exact code being used.

Zhang.Shuang

#4 Unread post by Zhang.Shuang »

Thanks a lot!:)

I figured it out. I think it's the 'make clean' thing that I missed before I do 'make' again.

Entrapmen

#5 Unread post by Entrapmen »

Is coriolis parameter calculated somewhere in the code if we provide simply lon and lat values? In another words, do I have to strictly define it under ana_grid.F or my grid.nc?

Özgür

kate

#6 Unread post by kate »

As it is, ana_grid will compute f from f0 and beta unless you change something.

get_grid will want to read f, not compute it. Again, you can change that or compute it outside ROMS since you know the lat.

arango
Site Admin

#7 Unread post by arango »