Ocean Modeling Discussion

ROMS/TOMS

Search for:
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:00 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC

Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 1:45 pm
Posts: 10
Location: OUC
Hi all,

i'm a new user, now trying to add a continuous dye in ROMS. How should I set the source? Any comments will be welcomed! Thanks a lot!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Theiss Research
Hi,

Remind me how you defined continuous die?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:43 pm
Posts: 28
Location: NIVA, OSLO, NORWAY
Hello

This is something I also wonder about
I would define continous dye as a continous source of any tracer. It is easy to amake a variable dye_01 in the INI fil.
If you include UV_PSOURCE and TS_PSOURCE you transport the initial amount of dye around in your model area. To my knowledge a continous source of passive dye is not included in ROMS. It is possible to have continous biological tracer by spesifing consentrations in rivers. In varinfo.dat you find for instance 'river_nutrient', but you dont find 'river_dye_'. So I have never used continous sources for passive dye.

Maybe it is possible to do something in analytical.F90?

Best regards
Andre Staalstrom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Theiss Research
I heard someone that wanted to have a continuous release of dye used biological tracers by de-coupling them (i.e. no phytoplancton eating nutrients; make the nutrient a conservative tracer I guess). I'm not sure of the details.

I have a question of my own:

If you have an open boundary with positive dye values, does this imply that for all time during integration, any inflow will have that dye concentration when coming in the domain?

This would be like a continuous dye (as long as there is inflow).

Rodrigo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:43 pm
Posts: 28
Location: NIVA, OSLO, NORWAY
Hi

One misprint in my last reply: I meant that you need to define T_PASSIVE to get a passive tracer.

If you for instance spesify north_dye_01 in the boundary input file, I guess this will be the concentration at the boundary if the boundary condition works as it should. But you can have more timesteps in the boundary file and let the dye concentration have a time variation.

Staalstrom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group