Ocean Modeling Discussion

ROMS/TOMS

Search for:
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:31 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC

Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:48 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Universidade Federal Fluminense
Hi!

I am studying the response of phytoplankton community to eddy activity in Brazilian Southeast coast.

My hydrodinamic model is working fine, the problem happens with the npzd_Powell model. I made tests with both homogeneus initial conditions and idealized npzd fields. There seems to be no response or interaction between the npzd compartments.The vertical structure for physical variables works, but for the biological parameters not.

I made a run using the upwelling testcase with npzd_Powell active and everything seems to be fine, with instant response from the compartments.

Is there something else to set in the CP or .in for the coupling works?

I'm sending the .h and .in images and some plots.

I’d appreciate any help with this.

Thanks in advance!


Attachments:
eddy.log [3.78 MiB]
Downloaded 98 times
eddy.in [117.65 KiB]
Downloaded 136 times
eddy.h [1.88 KiB]
Downloaded 117 times
dayno3_001.png
dayno3_001.png [ 9.43 KiB | Viewed 7869 times ]
dayno3_003.png
dayno3_003.png [ 9.43 KiB | Viewed 7869 times ]
no3_step8.png
no3_step8.png [ 55.06 KiB | Viewed 7869 times ]
dayVz_002.png
dayVz_002.png [ 23.23 KiB | Viewed 7869 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3485
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
First, you should find out why the colorbar for the first two vertical slice plots wants to extend to 1.e37. Are those points in the land mask?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 5:44 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Rutgers University
Your log file shows the following:

Quote:
Metrics information for Grid 01:
===============================

Minimum X-grid spacing, DXmin = 0.00000000E+00 km
Maximum X-grid spacing, DXmax = 2.97235216E+00 km
Minimum Y-grid spacing, DYmin = 0.00000000E+00 km
Maximum Y-grid spacing, DYmax = 2.97199962E+00 km
Minimum Z-grid spacing, DZmin = 0.00000000E+00 m
Maximum Z-grid spacing, DZmax = 3.91620893E+02 m


That's odd that you have zero as the minimum grid spacings in all dimensions.

Have you applied special/missing values in the land mask points of the grid metrics? I don't think ROMS will like that.

_________________
John Wilkin: IMCS Rutgers University
71 Dudley Rd, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8521, USA. ph: 609-630-0559 jwilkin@rutgers.edu


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 11:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:48 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Universidade Federal Fluminense
Thank you very much for the replies Kate and Wilkin.

Kate, there is no land mask on the biological initial fields, I'm working on this.


Wilkin, I don't know why this is happening. I used to run my experiments in another machine, using MPI, and the minimum grid-spacing was fine. Now, im using OpenMP in a new machine, but I know people who use OpenMP as well without problems. This could be a problem?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 1:31 pm
Posts: 20
Location: south china sea institute of oceanography
gabrielanalini wrote:
Thank you very much for the replies Kate and Wilkin.

Kate, there is no land mask on the biological initial fields, I'm working on this.


Wilkin, I don't know why this is happening. I used to run my experiments in another machine, using MPI, and the minimum grid-spacing was fine. Now, im using OpenMP in a new machine, but I know people who use OpenMP as well without problems. This could be a problem?


Hi, i am runing npzd as well. How did u give the boundary condition (i.e.alkalinity,NH4,SDeN). In my study area,NH4 data is absent. I can not find any other reanalysis data from internet. So,I used a constent value for all grids and boundary condition. the model can not run sucessuflly. How did you set the boundary condition in the time series. did they vary with time ? did they match with the changes of the chlorophyll and phytoplankton? thank you so much for your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group