Ocean Modeling Discussion

ROMS/TOMS

Search for:
It is currently Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:51 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

Author Message
 Post subject: Restart with biology
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:36 pm 
Hi,

I have a problem with using RESTART, I am running a 2D case with Fennel´s bio-model.
I used NRREC=-1 and DSTART=730 (days) (the last time of my restart file.)
The model physics seems to continue the previous solution, but the biological component does not. Actually all biological variables are set to (and remain) zero.
I tried to figure out what´s going on but I can´t see it - I am pretty new here..

Could you help me with this?

Thanks in advance,
Virginia


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restart with biology
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3633
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
I'm surprised you got as far as you did trying to run an ecosystem model in a 2-D simulation. There are many places in the code - including get_state.F - where all tracers are contained within #ifdef SOLVE3D.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restart with biology
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:42 pm 
Hi Kate,

Thank you for replying.
It is a quasi-2D configuration, I am using NS-periodic bd conditions.
I have also included #ifdef SOLVE3D in my include file. First, I started
analizing the BIO_TOY case and I thought a 2D configuration could work in a rather similar way..
But if there is something I'm missing and you could orientate me a bit, I´d really appreciate it.

Regards.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restart with biology
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:13 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Dalhousie University
Hi Virginia,

As far as I understand it, you don't need to change DSTART when you re-start a run, just NRREC. Hope that helps!

Laura


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restart with biology
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 5:44 pm
Posts: 491
Location: Rutgers University
Don't change DSTART when you continue a simulation. That will alter the filename numbering and potentially overwrite your previous results.

The thing to check is what standard output (a.k.a. the logfile) reports regarding the initial conditions being read on the restart. You should see a line reporting:

Code:
NLM: GET_STATE - Read state initial conditions,             t = .....
                  (Grid 01, File: the file name.nc, Rec=0001, Index=1)
               - free-surface
                   (Min = -8.21818829E-01 Max =  1.96565187E+00)
                - vertically integrated u-momentum component
                   (Min = -1.39076531E+00 Max =  1.41531563E+00)
...

followed by the list of all variables read.

If ROMS is reading the physics but not reading the bio variables then the information in the logfile might point toward the problem.

_________________
John Wilkin: DMCS Rutgers University
71 Dudley Rd, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8521, USA. ph: 609-630-0559 jwilkin@rutgers.edu


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restart with biology
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:05 pm 
Thank you all for your help.

Indeed, the log file shows that the biological variables are not being read.
As Kate suggested I should ask that in get_state.F I guess, I´ll try to make it work!


Top
  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group