Ecosystem Model - ROMS

Discussion about coupled ecosystem models

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
fannychenillat
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:53 pm
Location: Scripps Institution of Oceanography - UCSD

Ecosystem Model - ROMS

#1 Unread post by fannychenillat »

Hello,

I working on NEMURO model. In the last loop of the code, in the "Update global tracer variables" part, we have:

DO itrc=1,NBT
ibio=idbio(itrc)
DO k=1,N
DO i=Istr,Iend
t(i,j,k,nnew,ibio)=MAX(t(i,j,k,nnew,ibio)+(Bio(i,k,ibio)-Bio_bak(i,k,ibio))* Hz(i,j,k), 0.d0)
END DO
END DO
END DO

With:
t is the matrix of our variables,
Bio and Bio_bak temporary matrix of our variables.
Unities are concentration.

So I don't understand why we times Bio-Bio_bak by Hz, unit of Hz in meter. All ecosystem model coupled to ROMS Rutgers do the same (and no those coupled to ROMS Agrif).

Thank you in advance for your answer.

Cheers

Fanny

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Ecosystem Model - ROMS

#2 Unread post by kate »

The two versions of ROMS have different timestepping schemes. It's just part of the tracer timestep.

fannychenillat
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:53 pm
Location: Scripps Institution of Oceanography - UCSD

Re: Ecosystem Model - ROMS

#3 Unread post by fannychenillat »

kate wrote:The two versions of ROMS have different timestepping schemes. It's just part of the tracer timestep.
Actually, I try to work with NEMURO coupled to ROMS Agrif,

So If I change
(1) the loading of tracers arrays to
Bio(i,k,ibio)= max ( t(i,j,k,nnew,itrc), 0.0)
and
(2)the extracting of Bio to tracers arrays to
t(i,j,k,nnew,itrc)= min(t(i,j,k,nnew,itrc),0.0) + Bio(i,k,ibio)
i.e. as the same way used in ecosystem model of ROMS Agrif,
I should find the same results as NEMURO in ROMS Rutgers?

I mean: do not used t(i,j,k,nstp,ibio) in my ecosystem model is not a big deal for physics?

Thanks

Fanny

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Ecosystem Model - ROMS

#4 Unread post by kate »

You should do what is consistent for the model you are using.

The one true test is to try it...

fannychenillat
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:53 pm
Location: Scripps Institution of Oceanography - UCSD

Re: Ecosystem Model - ROMS

#5 Unread post by fannychenillat »

Hey

Thank you Kate. I have tried it and my nitrogen budget is constant.
So I guess I use the right way.

Cheers,

Fanny

Post Reply