"Basic Groundwork"(MPI-choice/ etc) -PGI_Compiled

Discussion on computers, ROMS installation and compiling

Moderators: arango, robertson

timchipman

"Basic Groundwork"(MPI-choice/ etc) -PGI_Compiled

#1 Unread post by timchipman »

Hi all,

sorry if this is "obvious" stuff, but I've trawled the forums and am having a hard time putting together some pieces. If someone can answer more-or-less clearly a few things, it would help me tremendously.

Basic context: I'm a sysadmin setting up a cluster to run Roms 2.2 (possibly 3.0 at a later time). Cluster is two-way dual-core opteron, gig-ether interconnect, Rocks (Redhat/centOS) platform, using PGI compiler to build (Intel/ifort seemed too hellish after first attempts for MPI)

I've got a "successful" (ie, it works but performance stinks) build of Roms thus,

-PGI compiler suite (latest and greatest version)
-MPICH for MPI, default config/install - compiled with PGI "by hand"

"performance stinks" means that as we add more CPUs the overall runtime *increases*. Thus, a 4-cpu job (single node) takes 30minutes with a test data set; then the same data set on 8-CPU run takes approx 60 minutes, and then 16 CPU it takes about 80-90minutes. In all cases they run as straight MPI-only job though, launched in identical manner. (Brief review of output suggests that "Halo exchange" is punishing us with the MPI scale-up? and also that 2d analysis phase in particular is suffering .. ? but alas I'm not really familiar with this, being a "sysadmin-type", not a "modeller-type")

I'm curious,

* What is the "recommended MPI for best performance" with roms 2.2? Roms 3.0? (one posting I've seen suggests that LAM is much better than MPICH ; now it seems LAM is replaced by "OpenMPI" though? and I see no mention of it anywhere.. and also I gather PGI may have available an integrated "tuned" MPI of some kind too? (not just a MPICH rebuild?) )