NTSHIS??

Facts, news, and guidance about ROMS software

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
l_fr
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:52 am
Location: Université de Liège

NTSHIS??

#1 Post by l_fr » Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:20 pm

Hello,

I'd like to plan several simulations, starting from a restart file, lasting typically 24 hours. I'd like to output a history file every hour but only for the 6 last hours of the simulation, because otherwise if I have a hundred parallel runs, it will take way too much hard drive space, 6 hours is the limit. In the .in file guide, I see the NTSAVG and NTSDIA that allow to tell ROMS when beginning to output average and diag files. But I don't see any NTSHIS and it's exactly what I need! Or is there another way to do this?

Thanks in advance!

François Laenen

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3700
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: IMS/UAF, USA

Re: NTSHIS??

#2 Post by kate » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:37 am

You could run in two segments, one with a long NHIS, the second with a short NHIS.

You could hack output.F to only call wrt_his after a certain timestep.

You could more cleanly add NTSHIS to the input and make it do what you want.

l_fr
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:52 am
Location: Université de Liège

Re: NTSHIS??

#3 Post by l_fr » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:52 am

Ok thank you Kate!

I'll check about hacking the output.F and defining the value.
Can you remind me what is the subroutine called to search the value in the .in file?

François

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3700
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: IMS/UAF, USA

Re: NTSHIS??

#4 Post by kate » Tue Nov 27, 2012 1:03 am

It is read_phypar in the new code, inp_par in older versions. Just search for NTSAVG/ntsAVG and copy how it is handled.

User avatar
m.hadfield
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 4:12 am
Location: NIWA

Re: NTSHIS??

#5 Post by m.hadfield » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:36 am

My advice is to follow Kate's first suggestion: run your model in segments; use a shell or Python script to generate the input files and scripts required.

Post Reply