ROMS performance characteristics and tuning

Post ROMS benchmark results

Moderators: arango, robertson

smulcahy

ROMS performance characteristics and tuning

#1 Unread post by smulcahy »

Hi,

I'm providing support on a cluster running ROMS 3.0. My background is computing and Linux rather than modelling so apologies for any gaps in my posting.

The cluster consists of 20 Tyan s2891 boards each holding 2 Opteron 270s (2.0GHz dual core) for a total of 80 processing cores (each with 4GB DDR1 400MHz ECC ram). 19 of the nodes are diskless and mount their filesystems over NFS from the head node. The compute nodes use a dedicated gigabit network (with a HP Procurve 3400CL) to talk to each other (used for both MPI traffic and NFS traffic). The head node has a second dedicated gigabit connection to the public network. The operating system used on the nodes is a 64-bit build of Debian GNU/Linux "Etch" with Linux kernel version 2.6.17 (a Debian packaged version).

We are using this to run a ROMS model with the following characteristics,

3D model
Tile Size: 8x10
Grid Size: 1200x750x40

I am currently trying to determine whether the performance of the model running on this configuration can be tuned. We are also in the process of preparing a proposal for a new cluster to be used for similar work. In order to specify this new cluster I am trying to get a better understanding of the performance characteristics of ROMS in general and our ROMS model.