Ocean Modeling Discussion

ROMS/TOMS

Search for:
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:36 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC

Author Message
 Post subject: Model blow up
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 1:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:06 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Ho hai university
Deal all,
I run my model with ecmwf surface forcing(only contain sustr,svstr,shflux,swflux,swrad),tide and river,and the hmin=5m,hmax=5000m,and the initial condition come from hycom ,the boundary condition come from SOAD.my model blow up(fig 1) ,in the first time(dt=180s), it is a point with too large speed in ubar field,then i change the dt from 180s to 120s, and it blow up too ,and in the last record of rst file ,the zeta ,ubar,vbar, u, v, temp and salt is all nan in some region(around Korea)(fig 2 show the zeta).
Can someone give me some suggestions . Thank you very much.


Attachments:
upwelling.h [3.68 KiB]
Downloaded 37 times
ocean_upwelling.in [118.46 KiB]
Downloaded 33 times
fig2.png
fig2.png [ 44.36 KiB | Viewed 1278 times ]
fig1.png
fig1.png [ 20.22 KiB | Viewed 1278 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 4:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3264
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
You could try a shorter timestep yet again. If the model blows up at the same model time with that, then you know it's something else, not the timestep. Once things have gone to NaN, it's hard to know what's the cause. You could run to a step or two before the blow up and plot those fields.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 6:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3264
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
This doesn't belong in ROMS-ice, does it? Are you running my branch with the sea-ice turned on?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 6:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:06 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Ho hai university
This doesn't belong in ROMS-ice,maybe i post my problem in wrong topic.I have try a shorter timestep(60s),the model blows up at the same model time with a large speed point in ubar field(i=314,j=183).And i find the h+zeta near this point (i=314,j=184)with value -0.1243 small than zero.I think this would be the reason lead to model blow up.And i find the zeta value(Fig1 last record from -6.2 to 4.2 m) is strange to the value of soda monthly data(-0.1296 to 1.5208 m in the average of 1999 to 2010 in my research region).Could anyone tell me what may lead to my zeta field different from SOAD value.


Attachments:
fig1.png
fig1.png [ 13.69 KiB | Viewed 1247 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 5:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3264
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
You've got tides turned on. Are there large tides in that bay? If your model tides don't match the real ones it could be the bathymetry. What is the source of your bathymetry and how good is it? You could also turn on the WET_DRY option so that the model won't let h+zeta go negative. We have resorted to modifying the bottom drag to change the tides too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 5:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:06 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Ho hai university
I have add 10 tidal component(m2,s2,n2,k2,k1,o1,p1,q1,mm,mf come from Tpxo8)to my model,,and first i run the model with my tide forcing in 2D dimension about 200 day(test.h and test_tide.in,no other forcing and boundary add).The model never blow up.The bathymetry of my region come from General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans(GEBCO),i set the hmin=5 and hmax=5000,then make some smooth by rgrd_smoothgrid.m(rfac=0.35).Then i add the initial from hycom, surface forcing from ecmwf,boudary from soda2.2.4 and river,the model blow up. Maybe i should try to adjust my min depth or add WET_DRY.


Attachments:
rgrd_smoothgrid.m [2.44 KiB]
Downloaded 28 times
test_tide.in [117.63 KiB]
Downloaded 28 times
test.h [1.5 KiB]
Downloaded 26 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3264
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
You added a lot of things all at once. The tidal run might have had high tides in that same place and simply not blown up because there was less going on. I would try the WET_DRY.

GEBCO is a coarse and smooth bathymetry. Is there nothing better at high resolution in that area?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 7:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:06 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Ho hai university
I would try add wet_dry.The GEBOO i use is about 30 arc-second,and the other bathymetry i can get is ETOPO1 bathymery.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 4:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3264
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
It's been a while since I looked at GEBCO. The problem with ETOPO1 is that it has inputs from satellite altimetry and it therefore has weird (unbelievable) highs and lows.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:06 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Ho hai university
I turn on the WET_DRY(dcrit=0.1),and the model blow up again in the model time 712 day with speed v field in 12 sigma layer(total 20)(fig1),Can someone give me some suggestions.Thank you very much.


Attachments:
fig1.png
fig1.png [ 6.38 KiB | Viewed 1167 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3264
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
Reduce the timestep until you get past the blowup time?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:06 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Ho hai university
Do you mean reduce dt and run from rst file?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Model blow up
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3264
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
Yes. Try it and see if it helps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group