About Float Files

Information about ongoing ROMS/TOMS applications

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
lalvarez
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: Universidad Autonoma de Baja California Sur

About Float Files

#1 Post by lalvarez » Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:58 pm

Hello to All

Can I have 2 or 3 float files in the same ROMS run?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3704
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: IMS/UAF, USA

Re: About Float Files

#2 Post by kate » Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:07 pm

I'm not sure what you need. You want to run with one batch of floats, then restart with a different batch of floats? That should work fine. Just make sure you don't try to restart the old floats by having FRREC == -1 in your floats.in. If that's not what you want, please ask again.

lalvarez
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: Universidad Autonoma de Baja California Sur

Re: About Float Files

#3 Post by lalvarez » Thu Jul 09, 2015 3:52 pm

Hello Kate

Well I want to simulate particles dispersal from june 1996 through june 1997. One batch starts in june 1996 and drift for 240 days, and the other start in feb-97 and moves 30 days only.

What I want to know is if I can make two floats.in files (i.e. Leofloats1.in & Leofloats2.in), one for each batch and include both in my run file leo.in, with its own output file each one too, that is:

______________________________________________________________________
! Input forcing NetCDF file name(s). The USER has the option to enter
! several file names for each nested grid. For example, the USER may
! have different files for wind products, heat fluxes, rivers, tides,
! etc. The model will scan the file list and will read the needed data
! from the first file in the list containing the forcing field. Therefore,
! the order of the file names is very important. If using multiple forcing
! files per grid, first enter all the file names for grid 1, then grid 2,
! and so on. Use a single line per entry with a continuation (\) symbol
! at the each entry, except the last one.

NFFILES == 3 ! number of forcing files!

FRCNAME == in/Leotidfrc.nc \
in/Leowinfrc.nc \
in/Leogenfrc.nc

! Output NetCDF file names, [1:Ngrids].

GSTNAME == out/Leo_gst.nc
RSTNAME == out/Leo_rst.nc
HISNAME == out/Leo_his.nc
AVGNAME == out/Leo_avg.nc
DIANAME == out/Leo_dia.nc
STANAME == out/Leo_sta.nc
FLTNAME == out/Leo_flt1.nc
FLTNAME == out/Leo_flt2.nc


! Input ASCII parameter filenames.

SPOSNAM = in/Leostations.in
FPOSNAM = in/Leofloats1.in
FPOSNAM = in/Leofloats2.in


Is it posible?

Thanks in advance Kate
Have a nice day

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3704
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: IMS/UAF, USA

Re: About Float Files

#4 Post by kate » Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:14 pm

Nope, not currently possible. You can put all the floats in the same floats.in file. Those starting in February will have a special value until they are started in the output file. Or you can run once with your 240 day floats, being sure to save a restart record at the appropriate time, then run February again with the other floats.in file.

Recoding the ROMS floats to have more than one batch of floats isn't impossible. It's just a question of costs and benefits - will you want multiple float batches just this once or fifty more times in the coming years? Will you always know ahead of time or do you rerun things anyway as you discover something you want to change?

Post Reply