is the coastline data requisites for the Seagrid?

Discussion about analysis, visualization, and collaboration tools and techniques

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
chenkeyu
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: nanjing university of information science & techno

is the coastline data requisites for the Seagrid?

#1 Post by chenkeyu » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:01 am

hi,i have two problems,could you help me?
1.I have the bathymetry data ,but i havn't the coastline data of them,is the coastline data requisites for the Seagrid?
2.The bathymetry data I have is based on relative coordinate ,but the coastline data downloaded from http://rimmer.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/coast/getcoast.html is based on the
spherical coordinate.

Could you give me some advice to solve the two problems?
thanks~!

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3780
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

#2 Post by kate » Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:13 pm

I can't speak to Seagrid, but you should in principal be able to make a grid using x,y coordinates. If you wanted to know how the coastline lay relative to your grid, you'd have to find a coastline in your coordinates. Both Seagrid and the Fortran tools are expecting things in lat/lon - doing anything else will take hacking on your part. For ROMS, set the "spherical" flag to false if you don't have valid lat/lon values. If you decide to go with x,y, try looking into Pavel Sakov's grid tool mentioned in this thread:
viewtopic.php?t=372

chenkeyu
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: nanjing university of information science & techno

#3 Post by chenkeyu » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:44 am

thanks

rsignell
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:22 pm
Location: USGS

#4 Post by rsignell » Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:10 am

I've added some more information about how to create and format coastline and bathymetry data for SeaGRID to the WikiROMS. Check

https://www.myroms.org/wiki/index.php/seagrid

-Rich

Post Reply