Ocean Modeling Discussion

ROMS/TOMS

Search for:
It is currently Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:38 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC

Author Message
 Post subject: SEDIMENT in 2D mode
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 10:40 am
Posts: 32
Location: Institute of Meteorology and hydrology
Hi,
I'm running ROMS with SWAN, SEDIMENT in 3D mode but it's quite time consuming (350x500 nodes, dt=6s).
Since my domain is shallow, I'm wonder whether the above combination can be run in 2D mode?
I supposed it can except SEDIMENT module.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SEDIMENT in 2D mode
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 4:41 pm
Posts: 1081
Location: IMCS, Rutgers University
No, that is not possible. The sediment model is configured for only 3D applications. It doesn't make sense to do in shallow-water (2D) configurations because a lot of physical processes will be eliminated. Such a capability will require substantial changes and new equations and sediment processes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group