Grid generator

Bug reports, work arounds and fixes

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
susonic
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:44 pm
Location: Jeju National University
Contact:

Grid generator

#1 Post by susonic » Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:45 pm

Dear Users,

Are there any grid generator program which is useful for the global domain?

-JH

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3780
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Grid generator

#2 Post by kate » Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:24 pm

I have never built a global grid. You would need to figure out what you'll do about the pole problem. One option is to use a global POP grid which has a pole in Greenland. Then you would just need to convert from POP format to ROMS format. They must have grid generation tools for making such grids - also the tripole grids, but a tripole grid requires hacking at the northern boundary condition. Another way to go is used by at least one atmospheric model - making a grid with six "squares" in a cube formation. Again, you need to figure out the seams.

What are you hoping to do? Fred has done some testing and found that water masses get mixed away too quickly. We need the techniques described here

User avatar
susonic
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:44 pm
Location: Jeju National University
Contact:

Re: Grid generator

#3 Post by susonic » Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:57 am

Hi Kate,

Thank you for your reply and the useful paper link.

I want to see the result of the differences between the regional (Pacific ocean) which used different model boundary condition and the Global ocean model that has no boundary condition.

-JH

Post Reply