variables don't change at the dimension of time

Report or discuss software problems and other woes

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
qizheng
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 1:47 pm
Location: University of Bristol

variables don't change at the dimension of time

#1 Post by qizheng » Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:31 pm

Dear all,

I am running a case which blows up within 3 months so I want to see the results to detect some details. But I found something that I cannot understand.

There are some variables in dia.nc and his.nc such as 'temp' and 'salt'. They have four dimensions in a format of (xi_rho,eta_rho,s_rho,ocean_time). I want to draw some surface temperature and salt figures at each ocean time steps. However, it does not change along time. Can I ask what 's the reason?

And How can I convert my variables at S coordinate to Z coordinate?

It will be very grateful if someone can answer these questions.

Best Regards

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3757
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: IMS/UAF, USA

Re: variables don't change at the dimension of time

#2 Post by kate » Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:52 pm

If the model is blowing up, it has to be changing in time.

Looking at the surface is looking at the highest k level. To look at other depths, there are codes for computing that in matlab, python, etc. What are you using now?

qizheng
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 1:47 pm
Location: University of Bristol

Re: variables don't change at the dimension of time

#3 Post by qizheng » Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:08 pm

Dear Kate,

Thank you for your reply.

I am using matlab to plot figures. I chose a s-rho (maximum number =32 for my case) and let stemp=squeeze(temp (:,:,32,:)) . Then I plotted stemp at each ocean_time, but the figures are totally same. I am wondering if I need some key calculations?


Best regards

Post Reply