Ocean Modeling Discussion

ROMS/TOMS

Search for:
It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:47 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC

Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:31 am
Posts: 20
Location: Stevens Institute of Technology
Dear all,

I am trying to run an idealized test, only having free surface as the boundary condition to drive the water current inside of my domain. The initial conditions are constant all over the domain:
Code:
u0=0;
v0=0;
temp0=10;
salt0=10;
zeta0=0;

However, I found that the simulated 'zeta' inside of my domain are always around 0 (~10^(-18)). It seems the boundary free surface didn't influence the inner water level at all... I suspected that my CPP option in the header file may have problem, so I used UPWELLING case CPP options ( but #undef ANA_GRID/ #undef ANA_INITIAL/ #define GLS_MIXING). Unfortunately, this doesn't work. I plotted the time-series of simulated free surface on boundary cell and inner cell:
(sorry for the inconvenience. It seems there is a problem of PHP installation on the forum. So I attached URL instead)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lNY4vfgeDhQzadJcw4trsmexzJFHo18_

The boundary and initial condition files I used are:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=15EFJ6LVavR_vTgnBmoAESbDxaxW9QOWV
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KmIGyi-qIK4oM_lFzdQztfq591sauSE2


I have thought the barotropic item ∂η/∂x would work at least....Please let me know if you have any idea. Thanks for your attention!

Best regards
Yifan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 6:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Posts: 3633
Location: IMS/UAF, USA
Dynamically, the zeta outside is not playing a direct role, though it can be used in Flather type open boundary condition. You don't say what open boundary options you have chosen. In the model zeta is a second-order field in that it is computed from lateral convergences and divergences - the barotropic velocities are the first-order fields that go into it. For all the people wanting to drive tides with elevation only, you will do far better by driving with velocities.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:31 am
Posts: 20
Location: Stevens Institute of Technology
Thank you Kate!

The boundary type for free surface I used before was 'Clamp'. If I understand right, the Flather type is for 2D momentum ubar/vbar. So I tested to use real ubar/vbar/uvel/vvel to be my boundary condition, with boundary type: Fla/ Fla/ Cla/ Cla. The initial u, v, ubar, vbar, zeta are all interpolated from the same data source as boundary conditions. Initial temperature and salinity conditions are constant value 10.
Code:
!                   W       S       E       N
!                   e       o       a       o
!                   s       u       s       r
!                   t       t       t       t
!                           h               h
!
!                   1       2       3       4

   LBC(isFsur) ==   Clo     Clo     Clo     Clo         ! free-surface
   LBC(isUbar) ==   Clo     Clo     Clo     Fla         ! 2D U-momentum
   LBC(isVbar) ==   Clo     Clo     Clo     Fla         ! 2D V-momentum
   LBC(isUvel) ==   Clo     Clo     Clo     Cla         ! 3D U-momentum
   LBC(isVvel) ==   Clo     Clo     Clo     Cla         ! 3D V-momentum
   LBC(isMtke) ==   Clo     Clo     Clo     Clo         ! mixing TKE

   LBC(isTvar) ==   Clo     Clo     Clo     Clo \       ! temperature
                    Clo     Clo     Clo     Clo         ! salinity


This time I found the simulated free surface on boundary cell and inner cell looks close to each other, which is ok, while the another thing that I don't understand is the simulated free surface has a high frequency oscillation:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1DtaaGSEHDgr_pwrWf8E-5yRrDvCvLKG_

I checked the surface u/v and ubar/vbar boundary condition, but didn't find this kind of noise.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1QHXjHp6zBAdxuTXmi1yhYhvkNnaZhuRq
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1bZloNsR8ngrfyJkZt-E7Z8jY33V-jlTt
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1wSS3HjckmO0hXVCjMaLY2IvEQ6QLh_9U
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1i51vVyl37mPFm_TfJLCteOO61vV5JSLM
The noise also appeared in the previous test. I attached the figure with only the free surface time series of inner cell. Even though the magnitude is really small, the noise did exist.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1642kez_CVv3XTB9hqDtcGlPill06Ct97

Could you please give me some advice about how to remove the noise? Thank you!

Best regards
Yifan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group