Tide forcing model error

Report or discuss software problems and other woes

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
flcastej
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: Technical University of Cartagena,Murcia, Spain

Tide forcing model error

#1 Unread post by flcastej »

Dear ROMS users,

I am having some problems running my tide force simulation and I will like to get any advise that you could give me. I have read the information at the Wiki and Forum. The steps followed to run the simulation has been:

1.) Prepare the tide forcing file following the instructions on (https://www.myroms.org/wiki/index.php/T ... 8Matlab.29) using the OSU tidal data. The ncdump –h of my file give me:


netcdf mymodel_tide {
dimensions:
two = 2 ;
eta_rho = 350 ;
xi_rho = 500 ;
tide_period = UNLIMITED ; // (1 currently)

variables:
double lat_rho(eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
lat_rho:long_name = "latitude of RHO-points" ;
lat_rho:units = "degree_north" ;
lat_rho:field = "lat_rho, scalar" ;
double lon_rho(eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
lon_rho:long_name = "longitude of RHO-points" ;
lon_rho:units = "degree_east" ;
lon_rho:field = "lon_rho, scalar" ;
double mask_rho(eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
mask_rho:long_name = "mask on RHO-points" ;
mask_rho:option_0 = "land" ;
mask_rho:option_1 = "water" ;
double tide_period(tide_period) ;
tide_period:long_name = "tide angular period" ;
tide_period:units = "hours" ;
tide_period:field = "tide_period, scalar, series" ;
double tide_Ephase(tide_period, eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
tide_Ephase:long_name = "tidal elevation phase angle" ;
tide_Ephase:units = "degrees, time of maximum elevation with respect to chosen time origin" ;
tide_Ephase:field = "tide_Ephase, scalar, series" ;
double tide_Eamp(tide_period, eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
tide_Eamp:long_name = "tidal elevation amplitude" ;
tide_Eamp:units = "meter" ;
tide_Eamp:field = "tide_Eamp, scalar, series" ;
double tide_Cphase(tide_period, eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
tide_Cphase:long_name = "tidal current phase angle" ;
tide_Cphase:units = "degrees, time of maximum velocity with respect chosen time origin" ;
tide_Cphase:field = "tide_Cphase, scalar" ;
double tide_Cangle(tide_period, eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
tide_Cangle:long_name = "tidal current inclination angle" ;
tide_Cangle:units = "degrees between semi-major axis and East" ;
tide_Cangle:field = "tide_Cangle, scalar" ;
double tide_Cmin(tide_period, eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
tide_Cmin:long_name = "minimum tidal current, ellipse semi-minor axis" ;
tide_Cmin:units = "meter second-1" ;
tide_Cmin:field = "tide_Cmin, scalar" ;
double tide_Cmax(tide_period, eta_rho, xi_rho) ;
tide_Cmax:long_name = "maximum tidal current, ellipse semi-major axis" ;
tide_Cmax:units = "meter second-1" ;
tide_Cmax:field = "tide_Cmax, scalar" ;
char tidal_constituents(tide_period, two) ;
tidal_constituents:long_name = "Tidal Constituent Names" ;

// global attributes:
:type = "ROMS Forcing File" ;
:title = "Forcing for domain" ;
:base_date = "days since 2011-07-06 00:00:00" ;
:grid_file = "Y:\\modelos\\ROMS\\real_cases\\mymodel\\solo_mymodel_marea\\INPUT\\mymodel_grd.nc" ;
:source = "OTPS" ;
:source_url = "http://www.coas.oregonstate.edu/researc ... egion.html" ;
:history = "09-Jul-2015 12:47:01: Created by with write_roms_otps_ncfile.\n",
"" ;
:comment = "Inputs for OTPS executable \"extract_HC\" created with m-file roms2ll.m using the grid file as input.DATA\\Model_Med was used as the OTPS regional model. " ;
:tidal_constituents = "m2" ;



2.) Prepare my *.h file to use tide:

#undef STATIONS
#undef FLOATS
#undef DIAGNOSTICS_UV
#define MASKING
#define SOLVE3D

#define UV_ADV
#define UV_COR
#define UV_VIS2
#define UV_QDRAG
#define DJ_GRADPS
#define CURVGRID
#define MIX_S_UV
#define TS_U3HADVECTION
#define TS_C4VADVECTION
#define SALINITY
#define NONLIN_EOS
#define ANA_BTFLUX
#define ANA_BSFLUX
#define SSH_TIDES
#define UV_TIDES


3.) Define in my *.in the boundary conditions. The west coast of my domain is closed.


LBC(isFsur) == Clo Rad Rad Rad ! free-surface
LBC(isUbar) == Clo FLa Fla Fla ! 2D U-momentum
LBC(isVbar) == Clo Fla Fla Fla ! 2D V-momentum
LBC(isUvel) == Clo Rad Rad Rad ! 3D U-momentum
LBC(isVvel) == Clo Rad Rad Rad ! 3D V-momentum
LBC(isMtke) == Clo Rad Rad Rad ! mixing TKE

LBC(isTvar) == Clo Gra Gra Gra \ ! temperature
Clo Gra Gra Gra ! salinity


4.) Defined my input and forcing files:

GRDNAME == INPUT/mymodel_grd.nc
ININAME == INPUT/mymodel_ini.nc
NFFILES == 1 ! number of forcing file
FRCNAME == INPUT/mymodel_tide.nc |
INPUT/mymodel_frz.nc


But when I tried to run the model I get:

NLM: GET_STATE - Read state initial conditions, t = ***** 00:00:00
(Grid 01, File: mymodel_ini.nc, Rec=0001, Index=1)
- free-surface
(Min = 0.00000000E+00 Max = 0.00000000E+00)
- vertically integrated u-momentum component
(Min = 0.00000000E+00 Max = 0.00000000E+00)
- vertically integrated v-momentum component
(Min = 0.00000000E+00 Max = 0.00000000E+00)
- u-momentum component
(Min = 0.00000000E+00 Max = 0.00000000E+00)
- v-momentum component
(Min = 0.00000000E+00 Max = 0.00000000E+00)
- potential temperature
(Min = 1.50000000E+01 Max = 1.50000000E+01)
- salinity
(Min = 3.70000000E+01 Max = 3.70000000E+01)

CHECK_MULTIFILE - Error while processing Lateral Boundary multi-files:
data does not include initialization time = ***** 00:00:00


Program received signal SIGSEGV: Segmentation fault - invalid memory reference.

Backtrace for this error:
#0 0x2B54902F2667
#1 0x2B54902F2C34
#2 0x2B54911181DF
#3 0x4FE3DA in check_multifile_
#4 0x43DFA6 in initial_
#5 0x4039E4 in __ocean_control_mod_MOD_roms_initialize


If I run the model without tides it run ok. Please, could you give me ideas about what I am doing wrong?

Thanks a lot !!!! :D

jcwarner
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:16 pm
Location: USGS, USA

Re: Tide forcing model error

#2 Unread post by jcwarner »

should
NFFILES == 1 ! number of forcing file
FRCNAME == INPUT/mymodel_tide.nc |
INPUT/mymodel_frz.nc

be

NFFILES == 2
FRCNAME == INPUT/mymodel_tide.nc \
INPUT/mymodel_frz.nc

flcastej
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: Technical University of Cartagena,Murcia, Spain

Re: Tide forcing model error

#3 Unread post by flcastej »

Thanks a lot for your answer !!

I tried in both ways getting the same error.

jcwarner
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:16 pm
Location: USGS, USA

Re: Tide forcing model error

#4 Unread post by jcwarner »

what is your init time?
CHECK_MULTIFILE - Error while processing Lateral Boundary multi-files:
data does not include initialization time = ***** 00:00:00

compared to DSTART?

flcastej
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: Technical University of Cartagena,Murcia, Spain

Re: Tide forcing model error

#5 Unread post by flcastej »

I wanted to start my simulation on 2011/07/06 (yyyy/mm/dd), so I defined:

In my init file I have defined:

double ocean_time(ocean_time) ;
ocean_time:units = "seconds since 0001-01-01 00:00:00" ;


and ocean_time have a value of 63445507200.

In mymode.in :


DSTART = 734323 ! days
TIDE_START = 0.0d0 ! days
TIME_REF = 00010101.00 ! yyyymmdd.dd


And when I have created my tide forcing file:

tpred=datenum(2011,7,6);
t=datenum(2011,7,6);


I hope to have been able to answer your question.

jcwarner
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:16 pm
Location: USGS, USA

Re: Tide forcing model error

#6 Unread post by jcwarner »

try this:
DSTART = 734323.0d0 ! days
TIDE_START = 734690.0d0 ! days
TIME_REF = -1.0d0 ! yyyymmdd.dd

flcastej
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: Technical University of Cartagena,Murcia, Spain

Re: Tide forcing model error

#7 Unread post by flcastej »

John,

Thanks a lot for your help. I have applied the changes :


DSTART = 734323.0d0 ! days
TIDE_START = 734690.0d0 ! days
TIME_REF = -1.0d0 ! yyyymmdd.d

But I am still getting the same error.

jcwarner
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:16 pm
Location: USGS, USA

Re: Tide forcing model error

#8 Unread post by jcwarner »

what are the times in your lateral BC file?
CHECK_MULTIFILE - Error while processing Lateral Boundary multi-files:
data does not include initialization time = ***** 00:00:00

flcastej
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: Technical University of Cartagena,Murcia, Spain

Re: Tide forcing model error

#9 Unread post by flcastej »

I don´t have any lateral boundary conditions. Do I need to have it in order to force the model with tides?

When I run the model without tides It doesn´t give me any error.

Thanks.

jcwarner
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:16 pm
Location: USGS, USA

Re: Tide forcing model error

#10 Unread post by jcwarner »

try to recompile with
#define ANA_FSOBC
#define ANA_M2OBC

flcastej
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: Technical University of Cartagena,Murcia, Spain

Re: Tide forcing model error

#11 Unread post by flcastej »

Dear John,

Thanks a lot for your help, now the model is running!!!!!

:D :D :D :D

Post Reply