Run error: Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1

Report or discuss software problems and other woes

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
Pysh
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:51 pm
Location: Hydrometcenter of Russia

Run error: Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1

#1 Unread post by Pysh »

Hi!

I tried to run ROMS application for Caspian sea. I am beginner. The model not runs with the message

forrtl: severe (408): fort: (2): Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1 which is greater than the upper bound of 0

This message arises when in configuration file (casp.h) there are

#undef MY25_MIXING
#undef LMD_MIXING
#define GLS_MIXING
#if defined GLS_MIXING || defined MY25_MIXING
# define KANTHA_CLAYSON
# define N2S2_HORAVG
#endif

(as in users/include/adria02.h)

and in input file (casp.in) there is line

AKT_BAK = 1.0d-06 1.0d-06

If I not include into casp.h these lines

(#undef MY25_MIXING
#undef LMD_MIXING
#define GLS_MIXING
#if defined GLS_MIXING || defined MY25_MIXING
# define KANTHA_CLAYSON
# define N2S2_HORAVG
#endif)

and by default model configuration has line

LMD_MIXING Large/McWilliams/Doney interior mixing.

model run successfully with the same input file, but results are not good for me

I can't find this message in documentation and in the ROMS code.

Where is my mistake? Thanks

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Run error: Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1

#2 Unread post by kate »

First, you need to see how Akt_bak is dimensioned. I see:

Code: Select all

ROMS/Modules/mod_scalars.F:      allocate ( Akt_bak(MT,Ngrids) )
so the second index is Ngrids. Your value of Ngrids must have been zero. In some versions of ROMS, the value comes from the makefile while in others, it comes from ocean.in. Did you perhaps update ROMS without updating the ocean.in file you are using?

Pysh
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:51 pm
Location: Hydrometcenter of Russia

Re: Run error: Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1

#3 Unread post by Pysh »

Thank you, Kate

In casp.in and in ocea.in value NGRIDS = 1. How it can be equal zero I'll try to undestand. Now I don't see it in makefile
I have the version of ROMS 580 (2011-11-28) The ocean.in is also from this version.

Regards,
Boris

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Run error: Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1

#4 Unread post by kate »

The latest ROMS won't let you omit Ngrids:

Code: Select all

 READ_PHYPAR - could not find input parameter: Ngrids
               in ROMS standard input script.
               Add "Ngrids" keyword before grid dimension (Lm, Mm).

Pysh
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:51 pm
Location: Hydrometcenter of Russia

Re: Run error: Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1

#5 Unread post by Pysh »

Kate,

Ok, I need update ROMS.

Many thanks for the help.

Pysh
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:51 pm
Location: Hydrometcenter of Russia

Re: Run error: Subscript #2 of the array AKT_BAK has value 1

#6 Unread post by Pysh »

Kate,

I'v updated the version of ROMS. The model run without problems.

Thanks,
Boris

Post Reply