Some mistakes in Field-preparation package

Report or discuss software problems and other woes

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
bibi951
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:06 pm
Location: cpeo,ocean university of china

Some mistakes in Field-preparation package

#1 Unread post by bibi951 »

Hi,I use Field-preparation package released by Hernan G. Arango.
I find some small mistakes in Hydro,OA,Forcing,Initialization package.
I fix some but I am not sure whether I did the right modification.
for examples:
OA :
def_oa.f 240: status=nf_put_att_text(ncoutid,varid,'units',5,'meter',varid)
or should be :status=nf_put_att_text(ncoutid,varid,'units',5,'meter')
def_oa.f 361: & 'lon_rho, scalar',rcode)
or should be & 'lon_rho, scalar')

Forcing : subroutine get_date ,line 111: "mon=1" or should it be "imon=1"
Initialization :
def_out.F:161:
lsdim=Vname(6,idFsur)
1 2
Type disagreement between expressions at (1) and (2)
def_out.F:165:
lsdim=Vname(6,idVbar)
1 2
Type disagreement between expressions at (1) and (2)
What it should be? Should it be "lsdim=lenstr(Vname(6,idVbar))"?

Furthermore,would someone please release an errata for all the
Field-preparation package.
Best regards.

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Some mistakes in Field-preparation package

#2 Unread post by kate »

I haven't heard of people using this in probably a decade. Most are using various Matlab scripts instead. Do you have Matlab?

bibi951
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:06 pm
Location: cpeo,ocean university of china

Re: Some mistakes in Field-preparation package

#3 Unread post by bibi951 »

Hi,Kate.I also use matlab .
But how can I transform my realistic Forcing data onto my computation grid(curvilinear coordinates ).Do I need to do this myself or ROMS does this job?
I have just found a matlab ROMS toolbox.But it seems have few discription files.Can this toolbox give me the right input file Roms needs? Any tutorial would be excellent!
Thanks.

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: Some mistakes in Field-preparation package

#4 Unread post by kate »

What is the source of your forcing data and what sort of grid is it on? Is it from met stations at discrete points or gridded model output? I use global gridded model output which is on a regular lat/lon grid. In that case, ROMS will do the interpolation for me. If you have winds at a single point, ROMS will also handle that for you. Other cases require it to be put onto the ROMS grid before running ROMS.

In ROMS, the directory Data/ROMS/CDL contains sample cdl files for the required structure of your input files. If the forcing is like mine, the needs are slightly different, but I don't see it on the ROMS wiki off-hand. Hmm. Here's a sample cdl:

Code: Select all

dimensions:
        wind_time = UNLIMITED ; // (17540 currently)
        lat = 94 ;
        lon = 192 ;
variables:
        float Uwind(wind_time, lat, lon) ;
                Uwind:missing_value = -1.e+34f ;
                Uwind:_FillValue = -1.e+34f ;
                Uwind:long_name = "10m Uwind component" ;
                Uwind:units = "m/s" ;
                Uwind:coordinates = "lon lat" ;
        double lat(lat) ;
                lat:units = "degrees_north" ;
                lat:point_spacing = "uneven" ;
                lat:axis = "Y" ;
        double lon(lon) ;
                lon:units = "degrees_east" ;
                lon:modulo = 360. ;
                lon:point_spacing = "even" ;
                lon:axis = "X" ;
        double wind_time(wind_time) ;
                wind_time:units = "days since 1900-01-01 00:00:00" ;
                wind_time:axis = "T" ;
                wind_time:bounds = "TIME_bnds" ;
                wind_time:time_origin = "1-JAN-1958" ;
                wind_time:calendar = "LEAP" ;

Post Reply