How to set Coriolis parameter f in x-y coordinates?

General scientific issues regarding ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
hpd14thu
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 3:56 pm
Location: Tsinghua University

How to set Coriolis parameter f in x-y coordinates?

#1 Unread post by hpd14thu »

Hello, I want to use x-y coordinate instead lat-lon coordinate, but I don't know where can I set the value of parameter f. I wonder that if I should set the value in grid.nc or other place .

Hope your reply.Thanks~

User avatar
wilkin
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 5:44 pm
Location: Rutgers University
Contact:

Re: How to set Coriolis parameter f in x-y coordinates?

#2 Unread post by wilkin »

Look at the examples in ana_grid.h (which you are presumably using to create your x/y grid).

Follow one of these, like UPWELLING:

Code: Select all

Xsize=1000.0_r8*REAL(Lm(ng),r8)
      Esize=1000.0_r8*REAL(Mm(ng),r8)
      depth=150.0_r8
      f0=-8.26E-05_r8
      beta=0.0_r8
and set f0 to the value you want. Then there is code later in ana_grid.h to use f0 and beta to set Coriolis.
John Wilkin: DMCS Rutgers University
71 Dudley Rd, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8521, USA. ph: 609-630-0559 jwilkin@rutgers.edu

User avatar
hpd14thu
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 3:56 pm
Location: Tsinghua University

Re: How to set Coriolis parameter f in x-y coordinates?

#3 Unread post by hpd14thu »

wilkin wrote:Look at the examples in ana_grid.h (which you are presumably using to create your x/y grid).

Follow one of these, like UPWELLING:

Code: Select all

Xsize=1000.0_r8*REAL(Lm(ng),r8)
      Esize=1000.0_r8*REAL(Mm(ng),r8)
      depth=150.0_r8
      f0=-8.26E-05_r8
      beta=0.0_r8
and set f0 to the value you want. Then there is code later in ana_grid.h to use f0 and beta to set Coriolis.
Thank you for your reply!

Post Reply