Parallelization and tiling

General scientific issues regarding ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

lcbernardo

Parallelization and tiling

#1 Unread post by lcbernardo »

Hi all,

I am a PhD student with an interest in physical oceanography and ecological modeling. Though I am able to perform modeling runs using ROMS, there are still many aspects that I do not fully understand and would like to know more about.

Like most members, I'm trying to find the best configuration for the ROMS model I am running which maximizes computation time and resources. The use of parallel modes and tiling provides some additional flexibility, but I would like to ask if there is a possible performance degradation by using too many nodes or improper tiling. Would there be a recommended limit to the number of nodes to use for a given configuration? And what would be the best recommended practice to determine the I and J tiling scheme? I would appreciate any help.

Lawrence

kate

Re: Parallelization and tiling

#2 Unread post by kate »

Yes, you can ask for too many processors for a given problem. How many that is will depend on many things - the best way to know for sure is to experiment with your exact configuration for some fixed number of timesteps. Make sure the amount of I/O is representative too.

lcbernardo

#3 Unread post by lcbernardo »

Hi Kate,

Thank you for your reply. I have been conducting tests as you have suggested, and indeed there comes a point where even doubling the amount of processors hardly has any improvement on performance. I have been going about this blindly previously, so thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

Lawrence

chysun

#4 Unread post by chysun »

Hi,
I am recently reading ROMS code and try to export some of its intermediate variable,but most fields are tiled because ROMS has a parallel computing method.