How can i get the depth from sima coordinate to Z- ??

General scientific issues regarding ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
kobl1201
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:29 pm
Location: Kongju National Universty

How can i get the depth from sima coordinate to Z- ??

#1 Unread post by kobl1201 »

Hi~

How can i can the depth for one points from ROMS output???

i knew ROMS model uses sigma coordinate.

But i want to know the depth (Z- coordinate) for one point or all grids.

how can i do for getting the depth?? Which value will i check for this work???
Attachments
Fig.1.png

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: How can i get the depth from sima coordinate to Z- ??

#2 Unread post by kate »

This point would be one in the z_w array within the code. There is also a z_r array for the rho point depths. This figure comes from a matlab script which also computes z_w the same way that ROMS does, doesn't it? Are you talking about finding that z_w value in the Fortran, Matlab or other?

User avatar
arango
Site Admin
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: DMCS, Rutgers University
Contact:

Re: How can i get the depth from sima coordinate to Z- ??

#3 Unread post by arango »

In the ROMS Matlab repository you can find the function depths.m or set_depth.m. More importantly, the above plot was produced with scoord.m, which outputs the quantity that you seek:

Code: Select all

[z,s,C]=scoord(h, x, y, Vtransform, Vstretching, theta_s, theta_b, ...
               hc, N, kgrid, column, index, plt, Zzoom)
You need to be a little curious and spend time reading documentation.

Post Reply