Begginer Questions about Modifying ROMS: Forcing & Domain

General scientific issues regarding ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

robjenkinsiii

Begginer Questions about Modifying ROMS: Forcing & Domain

#1 Unread post by robjenkinsiii »

Hi All,

I'm still relatively new to using ROMS and I have some thoughts on taking little strides to get familiar with the model by modifying existing cases.
I've been reading a lot of the literature and opening up the include and ana_XXX files etc, to get an idea of how things work but I'm still really stuck and don't know where to begin.

Specifically what I want to do is to take a test case, Specifically the UPWELLING test case and change:
- Domain
- Initial Conditions
- Boundary Conditions
- Forcing
- Grid Size

I think I've identified in 'ocean_upwelling.in' where to set a forcing file, and I see in this file how to change the grid but not the domain.
Furthermore, while I think I see where to set a forcing file, I've no idea how to set one.
What I want to do is set the wind stress analytically (The equation for stress is based on something like a hurricane, where stress depends on the radius from the center of the domain.

Thanks in advance for any helpful words or tips to get going.
It may seem obscure, but I'm doing this specifically to compare the ROMS results to another model.

kate

Re: Begginer Questions about Modifying ROMS: Forcing & Domai

#2 Unread post by kate »

I suggest you start with the FAQ. The switches between analytic formulae and files are C preprocessor options starting with ANA_. The files to change are all of the form ana_xxx.h, ana_grid.h for example.

robjenkinsiii

#3 Unread post by robjenkinsiii »

Thanks for responding, Kate.

Your direction to the FAQ's is helpful and it reaffirms everything I've read elsewhere.
I would like to ask another question just to make sure I'm understanding this process correctly.