question about tidal model

General scientific issues regarding ROMS

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
rcxy
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:28 pm
Location: Guangdong Ocean University

question about tidal model

#1 Post by rcxy » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:55 am

hello,

the figure is my studied area. There are one tidal level station and three tidal current station. i have made an force tide file from the station data and OPTS data.(the tidal lvel data last one month and tidal current last two days)
However, there also a lack of boundary file,when i use the cpp:*_M2FLATHER.
The question is how to make the boundary file?
I have tried to make a boundary file, the 'zeta' is a same value in a same time(because only one station).
Who can give me some suggestion about how to do a tidal model in the area.
Attachments
74272_1285753306rZ34.gif
74272_1285753306rZ34.gif (4.92 KiB) Viewed 913 times

rsoutelino
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:27 am
Location: MetService - New Zealand
Contact:

Re: question about tidal model

#2 Post by rsoutelino » Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:25 am

Hello,

You can find instructions on how to create a boundary file in the CDL definitions to make netcdf ROMS files. Check in your source directory:

/yourpath/src/Data/ROMS/CDL/bry_unlimit.cdl or
/yourpath/src/Data/ROMS/CDL/bry_limit.cdl

These are netcdf templates to follow. Then use your favorite tools to create them.

Regards

Post Reply