tidal forcing run on an enclosed bay

Discussion of how to use ROMS on different regional and basin scale applications.

Moderators: arango, robertson

loric

tidal forcing run on an enclosed bay

#1 Unread post by loric »

Hi,

I'm a beginner to ROMS, and I'm trying to get to the point where I can run my own application. So far, I've gone as far as using seagrid to prepare a grid file, with landmask and bathymetry. My site is an enclosed bay, with closed boundaries on the north, east, and south, and with only a partially open western boundary. And to simplify things (I hope) and get a working run, I hope to use only tidal forcing.

I'm confused as to what to do next. For starters, I tried simply modifying the ocean_upwelling.in and upwelling.h files to account for the change in grid parameters. I've undefined ANA_GRID, and have defined MASKING, EASTERN_WALL, WESTERN_WALL, and SOUTHERN WALL. And where UPWELLING occurs in the functionals (ANA_INITIAL, ANA_SMFLUX, etc.), I've simply changed it to my application name. Of course, I wasn't expecting this to give me a good result, but I got a blowup at the very first timestep.

Am I missing any important step (such as modifying files other than the analyticals, and the ocean_*.in, and *.h files)? Eventually I'd like to force this situation with tidal components obtained from OTIS, to hopefully get a more realistic run. What would be the best way to get this done?

I apologize for the very basic feel of these questions though. I hope to improve as I gain a better understanding.

kate

#2 Unread post by kate »

Do you mean OTPS tides? I expect there are Matlab scripts out there to do just that using your grid file. I of course use NCL instead.