How to set the coordinate system (spherical or Cartesian)

Discussion of how to use ROMS on different regional and basin scale applications.

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
marinekame
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:21 pm
Location: Japan Weather Association

How to set the coordinate system (spherical or Cartesian)

#1 Post by marinekame » Thu Apr 27, 2017 5:35 am

Hi all,

Please let me know how to set the spherical coordinate system or Cartesian coordinate system in ROMS.

Is it set Manually by options in ROMS setting files by the user ?
Or Automatically by the coordinate system used in the input NetCDF files ?

Thanks

User avatar
kate
Posts: 3713
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: IMS/UAF, USA

Re: How to set the coordinate system (spherical or Cartesian

#2 Post by kate » Thu Apr 27, 2017 5:46 am

There's a "spherical" flag that the model reads from the grid file or from ana_grid.h. Most analytic cases have spherical=.false. but BENCHMARK has it set to .true.

marinekame
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:21 pm
Location: Japan Weather Association

Re: How to set the coordinate system (spherical or Cartesian

#3 Post by marinekame » Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:27 am

Hi, kate.
Thank you very much !

Post Reply