how many input files should I supply when simulating tide

Discussion of how to use ROMS on different regional and basin scale applications.

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
zhaoqian
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: National Marine Environmental Mornitoring Center

how many input files should I supply when simulating tide

#1 Unread post by zhaoqian »

If simulating only tide (t/s fixed )in some sea area, how many input files should I supply? I only supply the ocean_grd.nc and ocean_frc.nc(contain tidal imformation). The initial condition and wind forcing is set analytically.
Am i right? Plsease give me some suggestion! Thanks for help.
The following is what i set in the *in file.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
! Input NetCDF file names, [1:Ngrids].
GRDNAME == /data1/qzhao/trunk/ocean_grd.nc
ININAME == /dev/null
ITLNAME == /dev/null
IRPNAME == /dev/null
IADNAME == /dev/null
CLMNAME == /dev/null
BRYNAME == /dev/null
FWDNAME == /dev/null
! Input forcing NetCDF file name(s). The USER has the option to enter
! several file names for each nested grid. For example, the USER may
! have different files for wind products, heat fluxes, rivers, tides,
! etc. The model will scan the file list and will read the needed data
! from the first file in the list containing the forcing field. Therefore,
! the order of the file names is very important. If using multiple forcing
! files per grid, first enter all the file names for grid 1, then grid 2,
! and so on. Use a single line per entry with a continuation (\) symbol
! at the each entry, except the last one.
NFFILES == 1 ! number of forcing files

FRCNAME == /data1/qzhao/trunk/ocean_frc.nc ! forcing file 1, grid 1

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: how many input files should I supply when simulating tide

#2 Unread post by kate »

Sounds good. Did you set ANA_INITIAL and all that? Did you try it this way?

zhaoqian
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: National Marine Environmental Mornitoring Center

Re: how many input files should I supply when simulating tide

#3 Unread post by zhaoqian »

I set ANA_INITIAL flags and give the t & s of the computing sea area analytically. But the program stop when executing the get_data.f90 which is in initial.f90. I read the get_data.f90 and find that it reads the bry file.

My question is: if i have the tidal constituents and want to use them as the obc to driver, should i supply the *frc.nc file or the *bry.nc file or both of them? I have made the ocean_frc.nc which contains the tidal imformation for the whole sea area. But it seems that i should also provide the bry file. If so, how to generate the bry file?

In the page http://www.myroms.org/index.php?page=forcing, it saids "ROMS (version 1.7.0 and up) can be forced at the open boundaries with tides. The forcing data for each tidal angular component consists of: ......."

I am so confiused. Please give me some advice. Thanks a lot!

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: how many input files should I supply when simulating tide

#4 Unread post by kate »

You need to hack globaldefs.h to swear to it that you do not need a boundary file. Do a search on OBC.

zhaoqian
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: National Marine Environmental Mornitoring Center

Re: how many input files should I supply when simulating tide

#5 Unread post by zhaoqian »

Dear kate and all:
Thank you for your instruction! I have changed my cpp definitions and the model can run for nearly one day, and blow up.
The following is the cpp flags of my realistic application: tidal driven,southern open boudary, t and s fixed. I am not sure if they are right or suitable. Would you please check them and give your opinion?
Thank you very much!

#define UV_ADV
#define UV_COR
#define UV_LDRAG
#define UV_VIS2
#define SOLVE3D
#undef MIX_GEO_UV
#define MIX_S_UV

#define TS_U3HADVECTION
#define TS_C4VADVECTION
#define NLNLIN_EOS
#define DJ_GRADPS
#define TS_FIXED
#define TS_DIF2
#undef MIX_GEO_TS
#define MIX_S_TS
#define MY25_MIXING
#define SALINITY
#define SPLINES
#define AVERAGES

#define EASTERN_WALL
#define WESTERN_WALL
#define NORTHERN_WALL

#define SOUTH_FSCHAPMAN
#define SOUTH_M2FLATHER
#define SOUTH_M3RADIATION
! If either of the three flags above is set, then the internal flag OBC_DATA
! is defined, requiring either read the data from bry.nc file or set them
! analytically. Am I right?

#define SSH_TIDES
#define UV_TIDES
#define RAMP_TIDES

#define ADD_FSOBC ! If only simulating tidal current,maybe these two flags can
#define ADD_M2OBC ! be omitted. But I am not sure about it.

#define ANA_FSOBC ! add analytical obc to avoid reading bry.nc file,although
#define ANA_M2OBC ! the value in the ana file are zero for my application.

#define ANA_INITIAL
#define ANA_SMFLUX
#define ANA_STFLUX
#define ANA_SSFLUX
#define ANA_BTFLUX
#define ANA_BSFLUX

#if defined GLS_MIXING || defined MY25_MIXING
# define KANTHA_CLAYSON
# define N2S2_HORAVG
#else
# define ANA_VMIX
#endif

#ifdef PERFECT_RESTART
# undef AVERAGES
# undef DIAGNOSTICS_BIO
# undef DIAGNOSTICS_TS
# undef DIAGNOSTICS_UV
# define OUT_DOUBLE
#endif

User avatar
kate
Posts: 4088
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: CFOS/UAF, USA

Re: how many input files should I supply when simulating tide

#6 Unread post by kate »

I see you have several options for T and S, including the MY25_MIXING, the advection, the horizontal mixing, as well as the TS_FIXED. Can you tell from the output that T and S are truly not changing? So how is it blowing up?

You don't need to specify the _WALL boundaries - that is the default. They won't hurt though.

Adding zero to the boundary values is one (good) way to get around ROMS being too smart for its own good.

Post Reply