Could I only couple the parent domains ROMS and WRF?

Discussion of how to use ROMS on different regional and basin scale applications.

Moderators: arango, robertson

Post Reply
Message
Author
phalucy
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:32 pm
Location: JAMSTEC

Could I only couple the parent domains ROMS and WRF?

#1 Post by phalucy » Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:18 am

Hi, everyone

I'm using COAWST as my coupled model by activating the ROMS and WRF models. To save the calculation cost, I wish to run a two-domain WRF and one-domain ROMS.
The parent domain of WRF has the same grid as ROMS. If I don't have a two-way nested domain in the WRF, I actually do not need to activate the MCT_INTERP_OC2ACT option.

However, I am not sure whether I should use scrip_coawst to generate the weights when I want to run a two-domain WRF.

I didn't find any examples, but I did find a paper saying that they coupled ROMS only with the second WRF domain.
That paper's title is 'Impact of Coupling an Ocean Model to WRF Nor’easter Simulations' (Nicholls and Decker 2015).

Many thanks if you can give me some suggestions.

Best regards,

Ning Zhao, Ph.D.

jcwarner
Posts: 812
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:16 pm
Location: USGS, USA

Re: Could I only couple the parent domains ROMS and WRF?

#2 Post by jcwarner » Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:54 pm

When COAWST runs it will look to see that you have 2 WRF grids selected and then it will try to get data from both wrf grids to roms. So i suggest you do the weights. You can try it without the weights but i dont think it will work.
-j

Post Reply